Professional Experience

  • Adjunct Professor of Law, IU McKinney School of Law
  • Former Director, Indiana University Public Policy Institute (Founding Director)
  • Former Chair and Member, Indiana Supreme Court Disciplinary Commission (10-year term)
  • Attorney, admitted to the Indiana and District of Columbia Bars, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and the U.S. Supreme Court
  • Registered Mediator, Indiana Supreme Court
  • Special Judge for Judicial Mandate Disputes, Indiana Supreme Court
  • Deputy Mayor of Indianapolis from 1982 to 1991


  • Distinguished Barrister, Indiana Lawyer
  • Chancellor's Medallion, IU Indianapolis
  • Bicentennial Medallion, Indiana University
  • Inaugural John L. Krauss Award for Public Policy Innovation, Indiana University Public Policy Institute
  • Department of the Army, Commander's Award for Public Service